Verses 22 & 23

Hello Siestas!

So sorry about last time, it got by me! I kept thinking, Oh I need to go back and post and the next thing I knew it was December! I’ll confess that it is due to a combination of the busy-ness of this time of year and losing steam. I pray that each of you is remaining faithful to God’s Word! I can’t believe that we are only 4 weeks away from the end of the Sermon on the Mount, it has been an incredible journey. Please let me know below what you are working on now, and how you have felt the impact in your life this year.

My verse for November 15 last year was Exodus 15:2, chosen the week after my Dad’s funeral:

The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him.

Thank you, Lord, for that timely verse!

And my verse for last December 1, 1 John 4:11-12, passed to me by my dear friend Linda at the most appropriate time, both for then and now.

“Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; but if we love one another, God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.

As we near the end of the Sermon on the Mount, we are in the midst of this passage:

So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.

13 “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. 14 But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.

15 “Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. 16 By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? 17 Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. 18 A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. 19 Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. 20 Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.

21 “Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22 Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23 Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’”

That’s a lot, but remember I’m making up for lost time here. I apologize again! If you are interested in a deeper discussion on this passage, go to my dear friend Cara’s blog by clicking here.

One last thing, my sweet sister-in-law Keely gave us this simple and beautiful Advent idea, my kids and I started this today and are loving it.

Have a blessed Christmas season, and I will see you once again on December 15!

The Lord bless you and keep you, dear sisters!

Love, Christy

9 thoughts on “Verses 22 & 23

  1. caragab says:

    i love that advent chain idea – very simple and beautiful!

    my 22nd & 23rd verses last year were:

    I am still confident of this:
    I will see the goodness of the Lord
    in the land of the living.
    Wait for the Lord;
    be strong and take heart
    and wait for the Lord. (Psalm 27:13, 14 NIV84)

    Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God–this is your spiritual act of worship. (Romans 12:1 NIV84)

    i know i was in a waiting period at the end of last year – waiting to hear from God on some things.

    i am not sure why i picked the Romans verse, other than it was 12-1 and my pants were probably too tight and i was feeling guilty or convicted about that.

    yes, i am a spiritual giant.

    the end.

    thanks for taking the time to do this sweet christy!

    • christypond says:

      Thank you so much, Cara, for your unfailing support, and most important of all, for inviting me to do this with you in the first place! It’s been an amazing journey!

      Yes, you are a spiritual giant. I love your realness.

  2. Greetings siesta. Missed everyone. I’ve had some struggles lately in our house hunting. Discouragement set in and my husband and a dear friend and sister in The Lord prayed me through it. I appreciate Cara’s verses. The Psalms verses were ones I worked on last year but didn’t really hit me. They were at the end of the chapter I had been working on. This year they were a lifeline that I held on to for awhile.

    Last year, my verse was Eph. 3:20. Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us… I’m wondering if that’s what He’s going to show me at the end of this season of wandering aka house hunting.

    I’m working on Deut. 33:12 now. It touched my heart when I read it in Beth’s John study which I’m currently working on with my local siestas.
    Let the beloved of the LORD rest secure in Him for He shields him all day long, and the one the LORD loves rests between His shoulders.

    Lastly, please rejoice with me as my younger son has decided to be baptized into Christ today. He’s the first of my kiddos to make this important decision. I’m sure I’ll be a puddle of tears. But they will be happy tears 🙂

    Love,
    Delores

    • christypond says:

      Dear Delores,

      Thank you so much for your faithful support here! It has been such a joy to get to know you through the year in scripture memory. Praise the LORD about your son’s decision to make his faith his own through baptism! I will continue praying for you through this season, we will keep connected on Facebook, and we will meet face to face, Lord willing, in just over a year in Houston!

      With my love,

      Christy

  3. Peggy Langille says:

    Last year I was doing these verses. Eph 6:16-17 With all these take the shield of faith, with which you can quench the firey arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

    This year if I could remember where the Narrow gate verses belong I would be ever so happy! I can’t believe we are almost done.

    Cara, you make me laugh! Delores so happy about your son, nothing better! We all have to meet at 2014 SSMTC!

    • christypond says:

      Peggy you are hysterically funny and deep at the same time. Can’t find the narrow gate indeed! Love you to pieces, girl, and feeling so blessed that the Lord dropped you into my life the way He did in Houston last year. Thank you too for your unfailing support!

  4. Linda says:

    Yes, thank you Christy for doing this all year long! You can miss a session now and then! And Cara – if you read this – thank you for your blogs! I love getting them. You have a great gift and I am praying for you and your husband for whatever crazy missionary plans the Lord has for you two! Delores – huge hugs to you and your son! I love God’s faithfulness. And Peggy – stand strong in the Lord and His armor!
    This time I am working on 1 Peter 5:8 – 9
    Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him standing firm in the faith.
    Yes, I am still stuggling with allowinng a good bottle of wine to become an idol. Must be my, “thorn” the Lord has “blessed” me with! Lately I’ve been doing better, but only by relying on the strength of the Lord, hence the description: “blessing”, but God is good and He is still on His throne!.
    Last year at this time my verse was Ps. 37:3 – 6:
    Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him and He will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.
    I love that verse for so many reasons: “..dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.” What beautiful picture! And I want to be a light in the dark – I want Him shining through me like, “the noonday sun.” I could go on and on, but it is after 8:00 and I have to get to work!
    And yes………memorizing and studying scripture these last two years has changed me. The biggest thing I notice is that I am so much more bold than I was two years ago. I can offer to pray for a stranger! I can pray out loud with the youth home kids. I was too timid before to do that. So thank you for helping me and encouraging me to do this.
    I love you gals,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Dear Linda,

      You are such a treasure! I love your verses, from both this year and last. It’s been an amazing journey, can you believe where it has taken us, both literally (to CA and CO) and spiritually (only the Lord knows where!!!)?!?!?! Thank you too for your faithful support and your openness, you know we share many of the same struggles. Thank you for being a mentor and guide and supporter and friend all at the same time, from that very first Bible study meeting all those years ago.

      Love you,

      Christy

  5. Love the verse you chose for Beth Moore’s Scripture team! 🙂

Leave a Reply

