Verse 19

Hello Siestas!

It’s a cool and cloudy October Day here in Colorado. I hope everyone is enjoying the fall weather, wherever you are!

Last year at this time I chose Zephaniah 3:17,

“The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

I’m not exactly sure why I chose this verse or where I read it, but it’s beautiful and I love it. How reassuring to know that God loves us this much. It’s a little overwhelming, that kind of love.

This year in the Sermon on the Mount we begin Matthew 7. It’s hard to believe we have come through Matthew 5 and 6 and are closing in on the end of this passage. I feel as though I have just caught up with where we are, and the beauty is that at the end of Matthew 6 is one of my favorite verses, just at the time when I was feeling as though I couldn’t possibly (a) memorize or (b) live up to all the verses in Matthew 5 & 6:

Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

So simple. So true. So reassuring. Just seek God first and He will take care of the rest.

But I digress. Where we are now is Matthew 7:1-6.

1 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. 2 For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.
3 “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? 4 How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? 5 You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.
6 “Do not give dogs what is sacred; do not throw your pearls to pigs. If you do, they may trample them under their feet, and then turn and tear you to pieces.

There it is. I’m not even sure what to say about this yet, so I’ll let you go to my friend Cara’s blog if you are interested in more on this.

Now it’s your turn! Please post your verses from this year and last, and any comments, prayer requests or encouragements. Thank you as always for participating in this little community. It has been quite a journey, and I’m glad to have had your company!

The Lord bless you and keep you, dear Siestas,

Christy

4 thoughts on “Verse 19

  1. Linda says:

    Have to keep this short – my verse for this session is:
    Remain in me and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. John 15:4
    I chose this verse because I really, really want to bear fruit and I have noticed that when I am obedient, things happen and I see that I am making a difference in the Kingdom. but then I get lazy or disobedient and I don’t feel or see that I am making a difference. So, hopefully this will help me abide and bear fruit! A couple of really cool things have happened with the youth home kids that we minister to and I want to see more of that. So please pray that I stay strong and obedient and continue to advance the Kingdom.
    And to be absolutely honest – I can’t remember my verse from this time last year – my bad! (See – not being real obedient or faithful to scripture memory! Lord, help me!!) God bless each and every one of you!
    Linda

  2. Christy says:

    Thank you so much for coming and commenting, dear Siesta! And I have got to say now that RARELY have I actually REMEMBERED my verses from last year, I almost always have to look it up to see what it was. Also, I am not typing them out from memory at this point, I look them up and copy them over to make sure I get them right, so please don’t apologize for not remembering!!! I hope I haven’t given the impression that I’ve been doing all this from memory! I had the best of intentions to keep up with my verses from last year, but I haven’t. However I know they are and will be there when I need them!

    Love you girl, thanks for your openness and your beautiful verse!!! This was one of Cara’s last year too!

  3. peggylangille says:

    Wow that’s cheating!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 I’m joking–only grace here.

    I looked it up to copy it because it was easier than typing it. I just came back from a walk where I did all my verses for last year and this year. (Not being prideful, I just try to do them all at least once a month or I will forget and this is really my strongest discipline, I am a total loser at all the others.)

    Ok, for this time last year I started on the armor of God with Eph 6:13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to withstand on that evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm.

    It just turned out that there was enough time left in the year to finish them doing one verse every two weeks. So I went to v17 and then came back and picked up 6:12.

    Moving onto Matt 7:3-4 next week, I think I finally got the end of 6 down (or roughly right.) I so agree with what you said those last verses of 6 were so impactful to me when I looked at them all together. I have loved them.

    Sorry I’m late posting. I’m so glad you do this it makes me happy when you send out the new posts.

    Love to you both.

  4. christypond says:

    Love you too, Peggy!!! Trying to figure out what mountain we are going to climb on your next visit!!! So glad our friend is back home. 🙂

    You have seriously inspired me to think about working on my last year’s verses, which have gone by the wayside… I didn’t even recognize the one from December 1st. 🙂

Leave a Reply

