Verse 17

Happy Labor Day weekend, Siestas! We are on our annual camping trip in Glenwood Springs, Colorado, enjoying the sound of the rushing river, the sights of the beautiful canyon and wilderness, and the conveniences of electricity, running water and wifi in our tent camper. My kind of camping.

Last year at this time I was camping in this very same spot, but I had just returned from a weekend reunion with Bible study sisters in California. We had planned that reunion shortly after starting the memory verse challenge in January 2011. It was a blessed time, highlighted for me by a visit to our old home church, the 1st Presbyterian Church of Hollister. Perhaps those of us in attendance were primed and ready to be moved because of the joyous and uplifting nature of our reunion, but it seemed as though every song and every word and every precious word from the Scripture was speaking directly to us. I chose my next memory verses from that sermon.

Romans 12:10-12

Be devoted to one another in brotherly (sisterly) love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. (parenthetical mine)

I love these verses. And I love how God’s Living Word gives you just the right verse at just the right time when you need it. Have you ever felt that?

This year we continue with the Sermon on the Mount. It hardly seems possible that we are nearing the end of Chapter 6, and that Chapter 7 contains the fewest verses of the 3 chapters we will memorize this year. Last time I shared that I was behind in my memory work, but with the return to school and some semblance of a routine (harried though it is), I have been able to catch up. I don’t feel confident in all of Chapter 6, but I know that it will come with regular practice. I enjoy the feeling of accomplishment I get from working on the scriptures and committing them to memory, but even more, I cherish the knowledge that God has blessed and will continue to bless His Word hidden in my heart, and that those Words will bear fruit in my life as I try to live by them and share them with those around me.

Matthew 6:22-26

The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light. But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!

No one can serve two masters. Either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and Money.

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

Though the memorizing is coming more easily, the understanding does not always follow right away. I have been pondering these verses, particularly those about light and darkness. It helps to read the commentary I have been using, written by John Stott, Google other insight (like this very helpful piece by John Piper), and to follow my friend Cara’s blog, because she is doing a good deal more research and study on these verses, but sometimes just meditating on them eventually brings light and understanding which I believe comes directly from the Father. I also believe that He can and does use the same words to say different things to people, and even gives different meanings to the same words to me at different times. What I know for certain is that I have never been touched or moved or inspired more by any words more than His.

The Lord bless you and keep you! Please post your verses and comments below, and thank you as always for your company on this journey!

6 thoughts on “Verse 17

  1. Peggy Langille says:

    Verse 17 from last year is one of my favorites. “Ps 34:5 – Those who look to Him are radiant their faces are never covered in shame.”

    I learned about this verse at the Women of Faith conference in DC last year. I was waiting for Lisa Harper to autograph my book (yes I’m a geek). She looked at me when I was next in line and said ‘What a wonderful countenance you have’. I looked behind me thinking she was obviously talking to someone else, since that’s not something I hear alot. But nope she was talking to me! We chatted a bit and and then as I was leaving she yelled out to me Ps 34:5 I looked back at her and she said Ps 34:5 go and read it. So I did and decided to make it my new verse!

    The funny thing about it is when I think about this verse I change my scowl into a smile. The verse doesn’t say those who look to Him walk around scowling – so either I look to Him or I don’t. Radiant is not my natural disposition but it is something I can work on.

    Have fun camping!

  2. Linda says:

    Goodmorning Siestas! Wow – it’s already been a year since returing from our first Hollister Reunion? Hard to believe. Christy – I remember that service at Hollister First Pres – and the guest singer. She was Spirit-filled and such a blessing! And what a blessing our reunion was! I wish it could have been a whole week instead of just a weekend.
    This time last year Rayce had been at Yellowstone Boys and Girls Ranch (YBGR) for a little over a month. Initially we were told the insurance did not cover residential treatment and we were denied Medicaid because of our IRA’s. We felt the Lord tell us to put our son in treatment and let Him worry about provision. We decided we would trust that the Lord would either provide a way so we either did not have to use our retirement funds or that He would provide for us in retirment if we did have to use that. So we admitted him on 8/1/11. When we prepared to leave we asked how much the check had to be made out for and the staff person told us the insurance was covering this after all! So my verse last year at this time was:
    Ps. 66:5 COME AND SEE WHAT OUR GOD HAS DONE; WHAT AWESOME MIRACLES HE PERFORMS FOR HIS PEOPLE!!! (the caps and exclamation our mine! – just something I want to shout!)
    This time my verse is:
    Joshua 1:9
    Have I not commanded you? Be strong and couregeous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be wherever you go.
    The reason I chose this verse is to give encouragement to the kids at the youth home where Brent and I have been called to minister. The Lord put this ministry on our hearts after witnessing at YBGR the huge need for His work with kids in residential treatment. He is so amazing – how He uses and blesses His people! I can’t get over it!

    • christypond says:

      Oh Linda I love your enthusiasm and spirit for the Lord!!! This story about where Rayce was last year and how the Lord so abundantly and faithfully provided still gives me chills. You are an example of great inspiration to me!

      And I will never forget as long as I live sitting next to you in that pew, and how we talked with that amazing singing afterward to tell her how she blessed us and she shared how she had a loved one struggling with cancer also, but still she was able to shout out the Lord’s praises in a way that blessed us to our very souls.

      Yes, our reunion went too fast!!! Missing you, and love you!!!!!

  3. adagio4him says:

    Hi siestas, have gotten behind. House is finally on the market and school and other activities are finally starting. Getting a late start on this scripture. May continue on it into the next 2 weeks. Isaiah 61:3 NIV 1984
    and provide for those who grieve in Zion—

    to bestow on them a crown of beauty

    instead of ashes,

    the oil of gladness

    instead of mourning,

    and a garment of praise

    instead of a spirit of despair.

    They will be called oaks of righteousness,

    a planting of the Lord

    for the display of his splendor. (Isaiah 61:3 NIV84)

    Last year worked on Rom. 5:9. Since we have now been justified by His blood, how much more shall we be saved from God\’s wrath through Him!

    God has been so kind and merciful to me. I pray that you see His mercies all around you today.

    NW hugs,
    Delores

    • christypond says:

      Hi Delores! So great to hear from you! I am praying now that all goes well with your house selling and the start of the school year. It is a crazy hectic time, I know. Moving is so hard. With my love and prayers, Christy

Leave a Reply

