Verse 15

Buon giorno! My daughter and I just returned last night from a mission/choir trip to Italy. What an amazing experience! But more on that later, for now, our verses!

Last year I chose Romans 8:38-39:

38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

 At this time last year it was becoming clear that my Dad was not likely to survive his battle with cancer. We knew that God could, at any moment, offer a miracle of healing, but we began to reconcile ourselves to the likelihood that it was not going to play out that way.  It was a difficult time for me. I had experienced loss from death, but never so near. My Dad and I had always been very close, and I was having a great deal of trouble bearing the thought of losing him. These verses, along with all the rest I had committed to memory by this time last year, helped me beyond measure, because I began to ask myself “What is the worst thing that can happen to a person? Is it really death?” And these particular verses helped me begin to believe that the answer was not death, but separation from Christ, whether in life or death. This is an incredibly freeing concept. I have asked myself many times since then, in much less dire circumstances than losing a dear close relative, “What is the worst thing that could happen?” And the answer is always, “Well since I have Christ in me, and there is nothing, including death, life, angels, demons, the present, the future, any height, and depth, nor anything else in all creation that can separate me from Him, there really isn’t any such thing as the worst thing.” I can’t even express how much this helped me in facing my dear Dad’s passing.

This year, we continue with the Sermon on the Mount, through the Lord’s Prayer, Matthew 6:9-15:

“This, then, is how you should pray:

“‘Our Father in heaven, 
hallowed be your name,

10 your kingdom come,
 your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

11 Give us today our daily bread.

12 Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.

13 And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.’

14 For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.”

Powerful, beautiful. My friend Cara provides wonderful insight into these and the preceding verses in her blog, please feel free to join in the discussion.

Thank you again for your participation in this adventure, please post your verses and comments below. The Lord bless you and keep you!

5 thoughts on “Verse 15

  1. peggylangille says:

    Want to know something funny….I’ve been saying these Romans verses LOUDLY to myself all day. But I learned them later (the end of Sept)

    Anyway my verse last year was Ps 52:8 I can’t tell you what version it is because I think I tried a bunch of different ones before I settled on this — But I am like an olive tree flourishing in the house of God and I will trust in His unfailing love for ever and ever.

    I like this verse I really don’t know where I got it. I guess I read it somewhere.

    Love our SOTM verses this week they are really making me think which I think was Jesus’ point.

    • Linda says:

      Christy – glad you are both home safe. Can’t wait to hear about your trip. In reference to your verse last year – I used to struggle with the concept of bad things happening to good people. After watching a tragedy unfold on the news or witnessing it firsthand, I remember thinking, “Lord, what do you mean you will protect us and take care of us?!” But I have learned that the, “us” part is our spirit, our soul – not necessarily this earthly body that is dying a little bit EVERY DAY. It is our spirit that he protects every moment of every day from the enemy and his schemes. I don’t think we can fathome the spiritual warefare that goes on constantly, on our behalf! And yes, how comforting it is to know that we are so loved, guarded and protected by our Heavenly Father!
      My verse this time is Eph. 1:18-19 Msg. “I ask the God of our Master, Jesus Christ, the God of glory, to make you intelligent and discerning in knowing Him personally, your eyes focused and clear, so that you can see exactly what it is He is calling you to do, grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life He has for His followers. Oh, the utter extravagance of His work in us who trust Him – endless energy, boundless strength!” This is one of my prayers for the youth that Brent and I minister to and I want to be able to speak it over them – or at least know where it is in my Bible!
      I am storing up verses to use with the teens at the shelter home. Last Sunday I used my previous verse (“…he reached down and picked me up from the slimy pit. and se me feet upon a rock…” Ps. 40:1-2) in sharing part of my testimony with the kids. I like this session’s verse too and trust God to help me use it when He wants me to. got to get to work. Love all you gals! Linda

      • caragab says:

        i love that verse in the message linda! esp..”grasp the immensity of this glorious way of life…” how we dumb things down. man, convicting.

  2. caragab says:

    this time last year i memorized the same romans verse! i didn’t remember that we did that at the same time christy, but i remember the verse. i love saying it like i am beth moore on that travis cd.

  3. Hello ladies, i’ve moved twice since i last posted. Hope you’ll forgive my tardiness. Last year i was working in Romans 5. Don’t have my spiral handy but it was either verses 1-2 or 3-4 at this point in time.
    Now, i’ve finished Psalm 91 so i’m moving on to Isaiah 61, tackling verse 1 for this 2 week period: The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
    He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,

    My goal is to memorize the whole chapter by year’s end.

    Sorry this is short but i’ve got to get back to work. Prayers appreciated for a speedy selling of our house so we can start looking for a new place.

    love from WA,
    Delores

Leave a Reply

