Verse 14 – Grace and Prayer

So sorry ladies! The summer is getting away from me and I am late in posting again.

Last year at this time my verse was Hebrews 4:16

16 Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.

I took these verses from Ann Voskamp’s blog. I can’t even find it or remember exactly why it spoke to me then, but this verse has not ceased speaking to me since. Grace. That’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? God’s bountiful grace for us in the form of the greatest gift ever given, the life of His own son, Jesus Christ. In light of that, “Let us then approach the throne of grace with confidence…”

This year, I continue in Matthew 6, memorizing Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount with 4 other amazing ladies, with whom I had the glorious opportunity to break bread and share the Word this past weekend. What a memorable time of laughing, learning and sharing how the Word is changing us from the inside out.

Matthew 6:5-8

“And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. And when you pray, do not keep on babbling like pagans, for they think they will be heard because of their many words. Do not be like them, for your Father knows what you need before you ask him.”

My only comment about this passage is on the phrase “when you pray…” Jesus did not say, “if you pray,” He said “when.” So let’s get to it! If you’d like more discussion on these verses, please click here.

God bless each and every one of you. Thank you so much for joining me on this journey!

3 thoughts on “Verse 14 – Grace and Prayer

  1. caragab says:

    speaking of prayer, my verse last year was one of David’s:

    Psalm 27:4 one thing I ask of the Lord, this is what i seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.

    i ask myself, if i had only one thing to ask of the Lord, would this be it? convicting.

  2. Hello ladies,
    Late again here. In the midst of moving out of our house of 18 years and also getting ready to work at Family Camp next week. Things are crazy but God is faithful, providing interim housing with a couple of families at church while our house gets listed and Lord willing, sells quickly!

    Last year, i started a section in Romans 5. Had been in Psalms all year and wanted some NT. Worked on Rom. 5:1-2: Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God.

    Currently i am working on the last verse in Psalm 91, that is verse 16 (hallelujah!)
    with long life will I satisfy him and show him my salvation.

    This morning, i read about the Biblical indication of strength: walking without fainting. That is definitely something i need from the Lord as we begin our exodus adventure.

    Peace to you siestas from the Northwest.

    love,
    Delores

  3. Peggy Langille says:

    I’m late late….sorry. My verse last year was the third part of my testimony verses – Eph 1:19
    (it may or may not start with the word “and” I like to add things as you know so I may have added the and.) what is the immeasureable greatness of his power for those of us who believe according to the working of his great power. (nrsv) I am behind in SOTM…tomorrow is Saturday again and I am not completely sure of the last three weeks verses.

Leave a Reply

