July 1

Hello dear sisters,

We have made it halfway through the year! If you are choosing one verse on the 1st and 15th of each month, you have 12 verses under your belt–congratulations! I would love to hear from you how memorizing scripture has affected you, either recently or in the past. And I will renew this invitation later in the year, but I want to plant the seed now. Please consider taking Beth’s Scripture Memory Challenge next year, starting in January 2013, and join me in traveling to Houston in January 2014 for a Siesta Scripture Memory Team Celebration that will bless and inspire you!

Last year at this time I chose Numbers 6:24-26:

24 “The Lord bless you and keep you;

25 the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you;

26 the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

A friend had sent me these verses, saying that she was praying them over me as a blessing. It touches me to this day to think of anyone praying this beautiful prayer over me, and I have tried to share it with as many people around me as I can, and that now includes you. Please pass it on!

This year in the Sermon on the Mount, we have finished Matthew 5, and begin working on Matthew 6:

1“Be careful not to do your ‘acts of righteousness’ before men, to be seen by them. If you do, you will have no reward from your Father in heaven.

“So when you give to the needy, do not announce it with trumpets, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and on the streets, to be honored by men. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.”

My friend Cara, who is leading the group of women with whom I am memorizing these verses, has a particularly lovely post on these verses on her blog. Please feel free to join in the conversation by clicking here.

And now, I give to you with all my heart the blessing that I was blessed with last year, and that (I think not by coincidence), our pastor graced us with this very morning:

“The Lord bless you and keep you,

The Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you,

The Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”

I pray that you take the time to linger over these words, let them soak in, and feel the Lord’s love for you in them. And then post your thoughts and verses from this year and last below. 

9 thoughts on “July 1

  1. Linda says:

    Christy – I remember you blessing each of us Hollister sisters with those verses when we met at Vicky’s house for the reunion last summer. It is just so you (meaning classic Christy Pond) to use your scripture to bless others! I popped in to Cara’s blog – fabulous message! Thanks for encouraging me to check that out.
    Last year at this time my verse was: The Lord your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing. Zeph. 3:17
    I love this verse! To think that the God of the Universe is with me, saves me, delights in me, quiets me and rejoices over me is beyond what my earthly pea-brain can fathom!!! It was during this time last year that we were really struggling with our son who was really struggling with mental illness. We were seeking treatment for him, but were held back by the astronomical cost of residential treatment. Brent and I were on separate continents, but the Lord spoke to us both: “send your son and let me worry about provision.” We did and He did! A year later son is back home and living a fairly typical life. God is good, indeed!
    This session my verse is: “I have given you authority to trample on snakes and scorpions and to overcome all the power of the enemy; nothing will harm you”. Luke 10:19
    Isn’t it great to be a daughter of the King?!
    Got to go. Love you,
    Linda

    • caragab says:

      Oh Zeph. 3:17 is one of my favorites!!

    • christypond says:

      I agree with Cara, I loved your Zeph 3:17 so much last year that I added it to my list of must-memorize and used it later! So exciting to think of where you were last year, your utter and complete trust in God, and where he has brought you now. Can’t wait to see you!!!

  2. peggy says:

    Hey y’all. My verse last year was a continuation of last time so I moved on to the next verse which was Eph 6:18 — So that with the eyes of your heart enlightened you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints.

    I love your verses! Beautiful. Linda awesome testimony about your son.

    • christypond says:

      You and cg are cracking me up with your y’alls! Who would know you are in the northeast and she is in the Rockies? You are both channeling Beth Moore, I think. 🙂 Love you girl, and so so so thankful the Lord dropped you in my life when He did. I like to think of you as one of the MANY benefits of memorizing scripture!!! 🙂

  3. caragab says:

    last year my july 1st was: Psalm 143:8

    Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
    for I have put my trust in you.
    Show me the way I should go,
    for to you I lift up my soul.

    i heard sheila walsh on the radio saying she said that every morning. last year i was in the habit of stepping outside with my first cup of coffee and saying that every morning. i fell out of the habit. i miss it. going to start up again.

    now i am memorizing Jesus’ difficult but true words in matthew 6. it’s hard y’all. but most things worth while are.

    thanks for the blessing sweet Christy

    • christypond says:

      I remember when you did this! So beautiful, what an amazing way to start your day, fresh new day entrusted to the Lord to do with as He will. Love you!!!

      And thank YOU.

  4. Good morning dear sisters. Still posting late but trying to work faithfully on the Word.

    Last year, i finished the last 2 verses of Psalm 27: I am still confident of this: i will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.

    Those are timely words for me to remember today. We have been told it’s better to move out of our house in order to sell it more quickly. We’ve been trying to find an apartment (first time in 18 years!) and are having trouble finding one that rents month-to-month. We’ve also looked at some houses for sale and the state that some are in is shocking! I’ve been so overcome by fear and anxiety that my blood pressure has gone up. I can literally feel it! This morning in my time with the Lord, i confessed my sin of fear and worry. I’m still not sure how to combat fear-pray for Him to take it away, refuse to acknowledge it/resist it, combination of both. It doesn’t help that i don’t have a clear view of what God is calling us to do. All i know is that i’m feeling very claustrophobic in our tiny house and i want to be out of it. I’ve already chosen my next passage of scripture to memorize to take me to the end of the year. I’m going to work on reciting aloud the good things that God has promised to do from Isaiah 61 as a way to remember His faithfulness. I’m praying that will break the bond of fear. For those who did Breaking Free, Isaiah 61:1-4 were the key verses we memorized. I plan on doing the whole chapter, starting in August.

    So for now, continuing in Psalm 91:14-15 NIV 1984
    “Because he loves Me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges My name. He will call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him.

    Good words!
    love,
    Delores

    • christypond says:

      Oh Delores, you can’t even know what your words are saying to me. First, a shock when I read your verses from last year – Psalm 27:13-14. I just, and I mean J-U-S-T read those verses not one hour ago on page 118 of Jennie Allen’s “Anything,” and thought to myself, I need to write those down for memorizing next year!!! And then poof, here they are. You beautiful sister.

      And as I was reading about your fears and high blood pressure, I was thinking, “Oh I wish she would do Breaking Free!” and then you pop out with that reference and those verses. Girl you are killing me. Praying for you NOW, that you be released from your fears, and that you are able to LET GO and give God EVERYTHING that you are gripping.

      My own verses from Isaiah:

      For I am the LORD YOUR God, who takes hold of YOUR right hand, and says TO YOU, “Do not be afraid, I am with YOU.” (emphasis mine)

      Love you, sweet Siesta, praying for you, and hoping to see you in Houston next January!

Leave a Reply

