Verse 12

Halfway there! I am a day late, my apologies! The summer is starting out to be quite hectic rather than restful as I might have hoped. But we press on!

I woke up on June 15 last year without a clue as to what my memory verse for that day was going to be. I was reading through the book of Proverbs in June, one chapter each day, so I opened up my Bible to Proverbs 15, and there it was:

Proverbs 15:1

A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Boy do I need this right now. In the midst of a harried start to the summer my temper has been short, and my harsh words are stirring up anger in my children. Lord, I ask you to help me be gentle in my words and actions, and to spread love among my family, not anger. Because the truth is I reserve my harsh words for those closest to me. So glad for this reminder today!

This year we continue with the sermon on the mount, coming to the end of Matthew Chapter 5.

Matthew 5:43-48

43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44 But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45 that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47 And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

Please click here for a more in-depth discussion of this passage, and even more importantly, please join me in truly trying to love everyone around us as Jesus did. It is not easy, but He himself has called us to it!

Thank you so much for coming and sharing your verses and comments here. The Lord bless and keep each and every one of you!

13 thoughts on “Verse 12

  1. Anita Sarringhaus says:

    Dear Friend,
    I needed your verse from Proverbs today. It was like oil on my dry heart. Feeling very “behind” on my verses and a bit out of touch with spreading myself so thin. Thank you for reminding me to press on. I love you and I can;t wait to see you!!

    • christypond says:

      Anita I am so glad to see you here! Believe me, I need it too! I am so looking forward to seeing you too! I know we all need that replenishing with our sisters from time to time!!! Love love love you, sweet Siesta!

  2. peggylangille says:

    Last year I decided to rememorize some verses that I knew years ago, but had sadly let slip away from my memory. The verses are special to me because they are part of my testimony.

    The woman who led me to the Lord prayed these verses for me the first week we met (and I bet she didn’t stop for awhile.) We were part of a bible study, she was new to my church and a devoted follower of Christ (I went to church for the social life.) I joined this 30 week, 12 person, Disciple bible study ONLY because my Associate Pastor, who was my friend, made me. I really didn’t want to do it but she promised if I didn’t like it I could leave. The first night we went around and introduced ourselves and said why we were there. Well I made it clear I was only there because Liz made me join and really wasn’t interested in reading the WHOLE bible. When Ann introduced herself she made it clear that she was there to grow as a disciple of Christ. At the end of the class we picked someone’s name out of a hat to pray for them through the week. Ann was the last person to chose and as she picked out the paper I saw her smile and show Liz and say “That’s the Holy Spirit.” I just knew it was my name on that paper. It was the beginning of the end for me. The next week she brought me a Woman’s Devotional bible and and gave me this slip of paper with Eph 1:17-19 on it and said, I’ve been praying these verses for you. To make a long story short, through the next few months, she and her husband Paul loved me into the Kingdom. But these verses were the start and I still have the slip of paper with my name and the verses in my bible.

    I broke it up into three sections so for this two week period last year in June, I was memorizing Eph 1:17 “I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, will give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him.” (NRSV)

    • caragab says:

      oh i just love that story. God bless Ann and Paul!!

    • christypond says:

      Peggy, thank you so much for sharing your testimony!!! What a story! I also have a women’s devotional Bible, it’s my most dilapidated copy of any book I own but I love that thing, and I keep all kinds of odd bits in it, sticky notes, other things that are meaningful. Love your verses, love your story, and love love love you! Can’t wait to see you!!!

  3. caragab says:

    i think i need a proverbs 15:1 tattoo.

    • peggylangille says:

      Yes exactly what I need too.

    • christypond says:

      Amen to that! If ever I considered getting an actual tattoo that would have to be in the running. Hmmm… maybe a hemp or other temporary tattoo of different verses?

      • peggylangille says:

        This one is short enough that we could have tattooed in script running down the inside of our arm or across the palm of our hands.

        CP maybe this could be a business like those temporary tattoos kids get, we could have packages of temporary scripture tattoos. People could change them out depending on what they needed that particular today. Humm, maybe I’ve found my calling.

  4. caragab says:

    my verse last year: 1 thes 5:16-18 be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

    i still say this, often, usually in a very loud and angry voice.

    but i am willing to let Jesus make me perfect.

    • christypond says:

      As always, I love your honesty cara Cara. I had my kids reciting Prov 15:1 with me int he car today, and sounded like an old time school room, all singsong and kind of bored and nasal sounding… “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger…” Not sure that’s better than loud and angry. 🙂

      Love love love you!!!

  5. Linda says:

    Can’t write much today. This is my first day back from a week’s vacation and I have lots to catch up on, but I wanted to check in quick. My verse this session is the last 2 verses of the Beattitudes – Matt. 5:11-12. I haven’t copied it down to bring to work – so I can’t write it out here for you. I’ll do it right for 7/1! I enjoyed reading through all of your blogs. someday I will have to meet you – Cara and Peggy! And welcome Anita! Thanks Christy for setting up this blog and maintaining it!
    Love,
    Linda

  6. Hello ladies,
    You probably wondered if i had fallen off the planet. The last few days at our homeschool center were pretty busy–i was trying to finish my first quilt in time for a Father’s Day gift to my husband (i was inspired by my daughter’s sewing class) and we had also found out there were going to be significant changes to our high school kids next year. Just realized today that i’m closer to next month’s first verse posting than June’s 2nd verse. I’m so sorry for my tardiness.

    Last year, i worked on Psalm 27:11-12, which reading over i see i need as much if not more this year than last:
    Teach my Your way, O LORD; lead me in a straight path because of my oppressors. Do not turn me over to the desire of my foes, for false witnesses rise up against me, breathing out violence.

    I’ve been working on Psalm 91:13 for this section: You will tread upon the lion and the cobra; you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

    Please know that even though i am late to post, i have been working on my next verse. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out what to say beyond my name, location and verse 😉

    Love,
    Delores

Leave a Reply

