Verse 11

Wow, can it be June already? Today was our last day of school/first day of summer vacation, all rolled into one, after one crazy hectic week. Whew!

I remember that last year at this time my family was embarking on a long summer vacation. I had mixed feelings about this, looking forward to a great trip with lots of fun beach destinations, but concerns were looming large about my Dad’s health. He was in the midst of a heated cancer battle, including daily radiation treatments, massive chemotherapy doses, and long, uncomfortable car rides back and forth between home and the hospital. He was always in the forefront of my mind. My verse for June 1 last year came straight out of my favorite devotional, Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, and it hit me again this morning.

Isaiah 41:13

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

 13 For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.

This verse was perfect for me, and helped me to remember to trust that everything was in God’s capable hands. Still one of my favorites. If you don’t have a copy of Jesus Calling, I can’t recommend another book more strongly, other than the Bible itself, for a daily dose of love and wisdom straight from God’s Holy Word to you.

This year, in the Sermon on the Mount, we are in a tough passage about turning the other cheek.

Matthew 5:38-42

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ 39 But I tell you, Do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also. 40 And if someone wants to sue you and take your tunic, let him have your cloak as well. 41 If someone forces you to go one mile, go with him two miles. 42 Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.

There is nothing easy about this, but Jesus never said “Come, follow me, it will be easy!” In fact, later in the Sermon He says,

”But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:14

Click HERE to learn much more about the Sermon on the Mount.

Please post your own verse for this year below, and any verses you were working on last year, or just say hello. I can’t tell you how much I appreciate each one of you!

5 thoughts on “Verse 11

  1. Hello siestas!
    Still persevering with the homeschooling. We have a couple of weeks to go. Went and saw King Tut today with our home school group.
    Last year, i was working on Psalm 27:9-10
    Do not hide Your face from me, do not turn Your servant away in anger; You have been my helper. Do not reject me or forsake me, O God my Savior. Though my father and mother forsake me, the LORD will receive me.

    I’m still plugging away on Psalm 91:12

    they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

    I could use some lifting up from time to time 🙂

    Peace to my siestas!
    Delores in WA

  2. caragab says:

    i’m not last! yay! thanks for the facebook reminder.

    last year at this time my verse was: Luke 12:7 “Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

    i was several months into serious amounts of my hair falling out. boy i needed a reminder that someone had an eye on them. i eventually got to the point that i was okay being bald, and my hair stopped falling out. thank you Jesus.

    this week my verse from the sermon on the mount: matthew 5:43-44 43 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you, love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.

    i think it would be easier to be bald.

  3. Peggy Langille says:

    Hey there – I was too busy watching for thunderstorms and tornados last night to post! But it’s all good, a minor tornado touched down in the area but not too bad, no one was hurt.

    This verse went with my last one but I memorized them separately. James 1:14 But each one is tempted when by his(her) own evil desire he(she) is dragged away and enticed.

    I totally agree with you there is nothing easy about the verses we have been doing. Maybe easy to memorize, but then they get inside you and won’t let you alone!

  4. Linda says:

    Well Peggy, you are not last either!! However, doesn’t it say somewhere: “the first shall be last and the last shall be first?!” Maybe that means next session I will be first to post!!!

    OK last year at this time my verse was: Eph 6:16-17. I had broken down the whole passage about the full armor of God into three parts and this was the last part:
    “In addition to all this take up the shield of faith with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the spirit which is the word of God.”

    Last year at this time we were struggling and trying to find psychiatric residential treatment for our son and a means to pay for it. We were really under attack and in need of the Lord’s peace and protection. there were so many times I would start to say: “Lord, get the enemy off my back! Cast him away from me”. And before I could finish that thought I felt the Lord say: “Daughter, stand in the authority I give you and cast him away yourself.” That was very powerful. there are still times I forget and I begin that prayer again: Lord, get the enemy off my back – instantly I remember my authority and God’s full armor. Hallelujuah!

    This year I am working on the Beattitudes. I was going to break it into two sessions, but I think i will do three. so here is the next part:
    “Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God. Blessed are those who have been persecuted for the sake of righteousness for theirs is the kingdom of Heaven.” Matt. 5: 8-10

    God bless you all, sisters.
    Love,
    Linda

Leave a Reply

