Verse 10

Hello Sweet Siestas! Thank you so much for coming here!

Last year at this time I was reading a wonderful book called Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster, and in it he suggested different ways to get into the Word. One was to choose a book of the Bible and read it daily for a month. I chose the book of James. This was a wonderful exercise, and I experimented with reading it in different translations and listening to audio versions on my favorite mobile Bible app (YouVersion). By the middle of the month I was ready to choose a memory verse from this book, so I went with James 3:17-18.

17 But the wisdom that comes from heaven is first of all pure; then peace-loving, considerate, submissive, full of mercy and good fruit, impartial and sincere. 18 Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness.

I like this passage very much because I often find myself in the role of peacemaker. It’s rarely easy, but these verses are a very encouraging reminder of what the Lord’s wisdom looks like. And this ties in so closely with what we are learning in the Sermon on the Mount, hungering and thirsting for righteousness, having pure hearts, being peacemakers.

So now in the Sermon on the Mount we are working on truth.

Matthew 5:33-37
33 “Again, you have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘Do not break your oath, but keep the oaths you have made to the Lord.’ 34 But I tell you, Do not swear at all: either by heaven, for it is God’s throne; 35 or by the earth, for it is his footstool; or by Jerusalem, for it is the city of the Great King. 36 And do not swear by your head, for you cannot make even one hair white or black. 37 Simply let your ‘Yes’ be ‘Yes,’ and your ‘No,’ ‘No’; anything beyond this comes from the evil one.”

Let your yes be yes and your no be no. Speak in such a way that those who know you know that you speak truth. Jesus sure has a way of getting to the heart of the matter.

Love you Siestas, and I thank you so much for stopping by! Please leave even a short hello below even if you don’t have time to post your verses.

12 thoughts on “Verse 10

  1. Kimberly says:

    Love your posts! I learn so much from you & am so blessed & thankful to have you in my life! You are such a great example of what a woman of God looks like!

    • christypond says:

      Sweet Kimberly! I saw your comment in my email and then I could never find it again! I just came across it today when I saw another one from this week that I had to approve, so sorry!!! I am such a novice at this blogging thing. 🙂 Anyway thank you so much for your kind words. I have learned so much from you too, and I appreciate your fire and enthusiasm! Love you!

  2. Hello dear siestas! I pray that whatever your circumstances, you are able to enjoy the beauty of spring and praise our glorious and creative Father who brings forth new life!

    Last year i was continuing in Psalm 27:7-8
    Hear my voice when i call, O LORD, be merciful to me and answer me. My heart says of You, “Seek His face!” Your face, LORD, i will seek.

    This is a good reminder to me. My own little group of siestas who meet on Wednesday evenings to study and pray are going through Francis Chan’s Crazy Love. It’s gotten to be quite challenging and these verses remind me that it is God we should be pursuing and not His blessings.

    Still working on Psalm 91:11 NIV 1984

    For He will command His angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways;

    What an interesting thought! This verse and the next are the ones that Satan quotes to Jesus in temptation. It isn’t so much a “did God really say this” challenge but how that would look in reality. What a comfort to know that God’s heart is for our protection and our care.

    Anyone here going to participate in the summer Bible study Beth announced yesterday? I’ve proposed it to my group. We’ll talk about it tonight.

    If you have a moment, please send up prayers that we’d finish strong in our homeschooling year (we end in mid June and we are all currently sick). Also, we are really needing to move to a bigger house and summer would be the ideal time. The past 2 summers, i’ve struggled with back issues (even having back surgery in 2010). I want to be free of that particular struggle this summer! Please Lord!

    Northwest love to you all!
    Delores

    • christypond says:

      Hello sweet Delores!

      Thank you so much for coming so faithfully and sharing your verses from this year and last. I so look forward to meeting you in person at the SSMTC (Lord willing!) January 2014 in Houston, if not sooner! 🙂

      Crazy Love was the first in a line of books recommended to me by our sister Cara which turned my life upside down, for the better to be sure!!! Love that book!

      I briefly contemplated the summer study with Beth, but I am leading Breaking Free this summer, and want to give it the attention it is due.

      Praying for you, dear one, for your schooling year to finish strong, for no back troubles, and for your housing situation to become clear! Thanks again for coming and sharing your verses and your heart with us!

      Love you Siesta!

  3. Linda says:

    Hello dear Christy and Delores! I am just dropping a quick note. I have my verse picked out, but can’t type it all up right now. I have decided to memorize the Beattitudes starting with verses 3 – 7. Next session I will memorize 8 – 12. I will be praying for you Delores for health, a successful end to the school year and that it is the Lord’s will that he direct you quickly and easily to the house He has picked out for you. And Christy I hear your angst about being the peacemaker. No matter who I stick up for (Dallas or Rayce) I make one of them mad! I try to be fair in helping them settle their differences, but sometimes……………(huge sigh!!) So I will be praying for wisdom and discernment for you in all aspects of your peacemaking – at home and everywhere else. And since we are asking for prayers – I turned in an application for Rayce to attend an alternative high school next year. Prayers for us to know if that is the place he should go if he is accepted.
    thank you sister,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Thank you for sharing Linda! Yes, I hadn’t even thought about peacemaking in my own home, but with 4 kids that is one of my main jobs!!! Praying for you and Rayce and the Lord’s will to be done with his schooling next year. So delighted to hear how well he’s doing!

      Love you too!!!

  4. peggylangille says:

    HI!

    I love the Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster (well I don’t really love it, but it is a very challenging book, but he is very wise.)

    Last year my second verse for May was from James too! It was James 1:13 — When tempted no one should say God is tempting me, for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone.

    I saved 1:14 for June 1. Our SOTM verses of “let your yes be yes and your no be no” are easy words but challenging to follow through on.

    Delores will pray that everything comes together the way you need it to.

    Love you sisters.

    • christypond says:

      Yes Peggy, Celebration and Crazy Love are just two of the books our friend CG exposed me to that I have to thank her for! Love that you were in James at this time last year too!!! I knew that I’d end up with at least one verse from James since Beth was posting from there about the study she was writing.

      Love you so much Siesta!

  5. Linda says:

    OK. I have my verses: As I mentioned earlier I am memorizing the first half of the Beatitudes. Matt. 5:3-7 “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the Kingdom of heaven. Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the gentle for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisified. Blessed are the merciful for they shall receive mercy.” Last year at this time I was working on Eph. 6:13-15: “Therefore put on the full armor of God so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.” Would like to write more, but got to get to work.
    God bless you all,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Both of your sets of verses speak to my soul!!! I love reciting the Beatitudes, and I have to warn you, you may not want to stop there… 🙂

      Thanks for coming so faithfully and supporting this venture!!!

      Love you sweet Siesta!

  6. caragab says:

    again, late. my bad. christy, you should post a reminder on facebook for those of us who – inspite of a calendar reminder – keep forgetting. you are important to me, this is important to me, but the days going by too quickly…

    anyway, last year my verse was:

    Matthew 6:25
    “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? ESV

    wow. that is all i ever think about. seriously. what am i going to eat today, what am going to wear, what am i going to drink.

    my verse this week in matthew 5:

    38 “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’39 But I tell you, Do not resist an evil person. If someone strikes you on the right cheek, turn to him the other also.

    wow. i never do that.

    Lord help me.

    • christypond says:

      Oh my goodness Cara, you are awesome and you never fail to crack me up, even in the very most serious moments!!! To true on everything, your verses last year and turning the other cheek this year. And I beg to differ, I think you do turn the other cheek figuratively. I know you do.

      Love you so much, dear one, so very thankful for you and your light-shining Christ-pointing influence in my life!!!

Leave a Reply

