Verse 9

Verse 9

Happy May, dear friends! I pray that this month finds you basking in the beauty and promise of spring! New life, resurrection, and joy!

Last year at this time I chose the following verses from Colossians, Chapter 4, verses 2, 5 & 6:

2 Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.

5 Be wise in the way you act toward outsiders; make the most of every opportunity. 6 Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.

My dear friend (and the one who roped me into this scripture memory thing last year) Cara had chosen these verses in April and I loved them. They are such a good reminder to always be careful about how we talk with those around us, anyone we might encounter. These verses have helped me hold my tongue in situations where I might have thought it was okay to lash out a little at a stranger or be a bit snippy (particularly in situations where I felt I was being treated unfairly in a customer service scenario). I am getting much better at being pleasant to strangers and acquaintances no matter the circumstances, and I feel that I owe that improvement to memorizing these verses.

Now before I start sounding too puffed up, let me say two important things. 1. I still get it wrong sometimes with “outsiders.” 2. I very frequently get it wrong with “insiders,” those inside my closest circles, those nearest to me (relatives, people living under my roof, etc.). So much room for improvement there.

This year in the Sermon on the Mount we are knee deep in some tough stuff. Last time I posted verses about adultery, lust and gouging. Now we’re looking at Jesus’s take on divorce. Ouch.

Matthew 5:31-32

31 “It has been said, ‘Anyone who divorces his wife must give her a certificate of divorce.’ 32 But I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, causes her to become an adulteress, and anyone who marries the divorced woman commits adultery.

I don’t even know what to say about this. Divorce is hard. Marriage can be hard. Jesus wants us to love one another, not hurt one another, to put others above ourselves. It’s not supposed to be easy. If you would like to join a more in-depth discussion of these verses, click here.

Please post your verses below, and any you were working on last year, along with your commentary about both! And feel free to comment on each other’s verses. I have not been very consistent about commenting and I apologize! But I love the community that has formed around the Lord’s Word here!

Thank you, and may the Lord bless you and keep you!

9 thoughts on “Verse 9

  1. Hello dear sisters,

    I have a moment so i will take advantage of it. Last year, i was continuing in Psalm 27: 5-6
    For in the day of trouble He will keep me safe in His dwelling; He will hide me in the shelter of His tabernacle and set me high upon a rock. Then my head will be exalted above the enemies who surround me; at His tabernacle will i sacrifice with shouts of joy; i will sing and make music to the LORD. I remember it was around that time that the news of Osama bin Laden’s death was announced. Interesting timing with this verse.

    This time around, continuing in Psalm 91. Decided to do 2 verses this time as i didn’t want to be left hanging just verse 9 🙂

    Psalm 91:9-10
    If you make the Most High your dwelling–even the LORD, who is my refuge–then no harm will befall you, no disaster will come near your tent.

    This is a timely verse as i found out a sister’s home was robbed yesterday and she lives just down the street from me. Praying peace for her but i find myself starting to worry. Although we homeschool, we do take classes at the local resource center so we are gone for several hours during the day. I’m already being pummeled by fear in other areas of my life…don’t need it in this area too. Definitely needing to learn how to put legs on the making the Most High my dwelling.

    Keep fighting the good fight!

    love,
    Delores

    • peggylangille says:

      Delores I’m praying that you stay safe and nothing happens. Don’t forget my verse from March–Is 26:3 it is my favorite for peace when I find myself getting anxious.

    • christypond says:

      Sweet Delores! Thank you so much for your timely post! I was out of town all last week so I’m feeling so behind. Do you have a copy of the devotional Jesus Calling?I have found it to be so helpful in reminding me to center all my attention on Jesus, and not let the other things take too deep a root. I still fail, of course, but it gets better each day. And asking myself, what’s the worst that could happen? I’m so sorry your sister’s house was robbed, and I’m not trying to say that’s not a bad thing, but I know God can take us through so much if we just lean on him. And the more we let go, it seems to me the less everything else matters. Love you Siesta!

  2. peggylangille says:

    Hey there. My verse last year was Ps 25:1 – To you O Lord I lift up my soul. I picked it because the people at the end of my street have it as their license plate (the address obviously, not the whole verse.) I didn’t know what it was so I looked it up and decided to make it my verse for the month. This verse is one that still speaks to me this year when I think about doing what God wants me to do. Just last week on Saturday I did all last year and this year’s verses when I was out running (waddling) and it really made me think about how much I meant it.

    I have nothing more to add about the Sermon on the Mount verses — they are tough, but it has been a blessing doing it in community with everyone on Cara’s blog.

    • christypond says:

      What a fabulous idea! Doing a vanity plate with a Bible reference, I love it!!! I just bought a fish for my car last week in light of our previous conversation, but haven’t put it on yet. 🙂

      I’ve been meaning to go over last year’s verses each Sunday, but haven’t done so recently. But I have been blessed to have a couple of them come to me at just the right time unexpectedly. Love you Siesta!

  3. Linda says:

    Good Morhing Siestas! Well, I have been slacking and I don’t have my verse from last session hammered down yet – almost, but not quite. Also, honestly I have to re-learn most of my verses from last year, too. This takes a lot of dedication and discipline and I feel I am not giving it everything I could. I’m not writing this for you to say,”Oh, that’s OK, don’t worry, you are trying, blah, blah, blah”. I am just confessing because I need to confess.
    So last year at this time my verse was Eph. 6:10-12
    “And finally, be strong in the Lord and in his might power. Put on the full armor of God so that you will be able to stand against the enemies schemes. For we are not fighting against flesh and blood, but against the powers of darkness in the heavenly realms.” I know there is more to it and this isn’t the exact wording, but…………
    This session I am finishing the passage that I started last time which was Is.61:1-2a. So here it is:
    Is. 61:2b-3: “…and with it, the day of the Lord’s anger against their enemies. To all who mourn in Israel he will give beauty for ashes, joy instead of mourning, praise instead of dispair. The Lord has planted them like strong and graceful oaks for his own glory.”
    I love the “beauty for ashes, joy instead of mourning and praise instead of dispair” Sigh……….. 🙂
    christy – I am praying for you during your visit – call or email me when you get back.
    Delores – the enemy loves to use fear to mess us up and distract us. Just keep thanking the Lord in all circumstances. Got to get to work.
    Love,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Lovely Linda! Me too on going over last year’s verses. We met a sweet lady at SSMTC who said she always reviews her old verses on Sundays, then uses the other days for the new verses. I got out of sync last week when I was in OK, didn’t work on any verses, so this week is catch up for me. But I know it will happen!!! So very much loving having the Lord’s Word buried right there in my heart. What a comfort.

  4. caragab says:

    how is it already may 7th? i guess i get the slacker award. as i was reading christy’s post and all of your comments i got the biggest smile on my facing thinking about what the Lord must think of all this. if he has a face and smiles i am sure he is doing it as well.

    my verse from last year was James 4:7 – Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil and he will flee from you. i was feeling quite attacked during this time last year and wanted an easy ‘mantra’ that i could say in times of distress. it is a good verse to turn into a prayer: God, I submit myself to you, help me to resist the devil – flee from me satan!

    this week & last i’ve been working on sermon on the mount 5:33-37 – all about oaths and swearing. i giggle every time i get to verse 36: ….you can not make even one hair white or black…. well, thanks to loreal i can, in fact, do that very thing! but v37 is convicting: let your yes be yes and your no be no – ANYTHING BEYOND THIS COMES FROM THE EVIL ONE.

    ouch.

    • christypond says:

      Cara Cara, love the image of the Lord smiling on us as we strive to put His words into practice. And when I read v. 36 I was thinking Maybe I can’t make them white or black but I sure can make them brown! 🙂 Love all those verses from James!

Leave a Reply

