Verse 6

Dear Sisters,

Welcome! Thank you so much for joining us on the journey to go deeper in our walk with Jesus by committing God’s word to our hearts!

Last year at this time I chose the following verses:

1 Peter 5:6-7 (NIV1984

6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

I had written this reference down in my spiral when I heard it quoted by the quarterback of Texas Christian University after he led his team to an unexpected and electrifying 21-19 victory in the 2011 Rose Bowl. Yes, I’m a football fan. But even more than that, I’m a fan of people who stand up in front of a camera and microphone when the world is looking at them and give glory to God in the highest. It gives me chills even now writing about it.

I love these verses, and I think of them often. Especially verse 7. Truth be told, I forget verse 6 more often than not. This year my word is Love. Next year I think it should be Humility. And this may be my theme verse. I’m good about casting my anxiety on God, and I know that He cares for me, but too often I can’t wait for Him to lift me up in due time and I forget to humble myself.

My new verses from the Sermon on the Mount are regarding the law, Matthew 5:17-20:

17 “Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. 18 I tell you the truth, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished. 19 Anyone who breaks one of the least of these commandments and teaches others to do the same will be called least in the kingdom of heaven, but whoever practices and teaches these commands will be called great in the kingdom of heaven. 20 For I tell you that unless your righteousness surpasses that of the Pharisees and the teachers of the law, you will certainly not enter the kingdom of heaven.

These are hard verses, challenging to read and comprehend, and even more difficult to memorize. I am thankful for the experience of memorizing scripture last year or I might be a little intimidated by some of these. But the exciting thing is that I know from last year’s experience that by committing these verses to memory, meditating on them, studying them, I will be much more deeply affected than I have in the past just by reading alone. I pray that you are seeing the same kind of fruit from your memorization efforts!

Thank you for joining in on the discussion! I look forward to hearing about your verses and watching you encourage and love each other!

The Lord bless and keep each and every one of you,

Christy

10 thoughts on “Verse 6

  1. Linda says:

    Good Morning Sisters!!
    My verse for this two-week session is another verse from Made to Crave. I just really need ammunition stored up against the enemy for when he throws doughnuts, cookies, Big Macs and Whoppers with cheese at me! Here it is:
    Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must put aside your selfish ambition, shoulder your cross daily, and follow me. Luke 9:23
    Actually the translation in M2C is, “.. you must deny yourself…” but I liked the NLT translation better. I have had many ambitions that didn’t have a lot to do with the Lord. And I tend to be a baby (maybe a princess 🙂 ) about having to “carry my cross”. I tend to whine first and pray second, or third or fourth…………….Brent and I have been talking about mission work and “going down” to serve the Lord. To do that I need to make some changes in my selfish, lazy lifestyle. I am not a horribly selfish person, but there are changes that I need to make. Beginning with the self-discipline and self-sacrifice of eating healthy is a good start for me. I am trying to push myself in other ways as well – like getting off the couch after dinner and accomplishing just one more thing for the day. May not sound like much – but it is a start. So there is my verse for this session.
    Last year at this time I think my verse was from Isaiah, but I can’t remember exactly. I don’t have my mini-notebook with me so I may not get this completely accurated, but here goes:
    “But you O Israel my servant, Jacob whom I have chosed, you descendents of Abraham, my friend: I took you from the ends of the earth; from it’s farthest corners I called you. I said you are my servant; I have chosen you and have not rejected you. So do not be afraid for I am with you. Do not be dismayed for I am your God. I will help you and uphold you with my righeous right hand”. I absolutely love this verse and I don’t know exactly why – maybe because you can hear the deep compassion in the Lord’s voice that he has for his people. I have a difficult time remembering/memorizing things, and it is only with the strength of the Lord that I can remember this verse an entire year after first learning it! If any of you haven’t jumped into this 100% yet because you think you can’t memorize verses – you are listening to a lie! You can do this by the grace of God. He wants to feed you with his word. If you ask for his help doing this, he WILL answer your prayer.
    I love you all,
    Linda

    • Christy says:

      Linda, your response is giving me chills!!! Thank you so much for your strong words of encouragement to everyone!!! You are so right, we have all said at one time or another, “I can’t memorize,” but we CAN!!! With the Lord’s strength, because He wants to fill us with His power!!!

      And I love what you said about accomplishing one more thing… so true! Usually once the kids get to bed I am ready to collapse on the couch and I am a slug the rest of the evening. If I could accomplish one more thing at that time when things are quiet and peaceful, it could make a big difference in my organization and ability to get things done. Words of wisdom, sister!

  2. caragab says:

    linda – i so relate to your comments about being selfish and lazy. i am pretty sure everyone struggles with that – i know i do! so we will just pretend everyone else is just like us, okay? last year i memorized luke 9:23 and i just keep hounding on the daily part. can’t i just do it once Lord? nope. every day. it’s a process. it is hard. the disciples didn’t get it right. none of us do. only Jesus really took up his cross. so every day we try again. and every day, in the shadow of the cross we find mercy. xxoo

    • Christy says:

      Count me in, definitely tending towards selfish and lazy. Cara, you are so right, even Jesus’s disciples, who were right there with him. Even the Hebrews rescued from slavery in Egypt, witnesses first hand to so many miracles, took them only moments to fall into selfish and lazy! At least we are in good company. haha

  3. caragab says:

    i said it in my comment to linda but my verse last year was luke 9:23 “then he said to them all: “if anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” it’s easy to get bummed out about the daily part, but it is also encouraging because every day we get to start over. help me Lord today to deny myself and follow you.

    i am memorizing the same verses as our dear sweet christy.

    • Christy says:

      You are too kind. And I love your glass half full perspective of getting a fresh start every day. Good morning Lord!

  4. peggylangille says:

    Why are you and Cara making me comment with my WordPress account …I don’t know but whatever… SELFISH AND LAZY — I can so relate. I have many excuses but none of them hold any weight. Taking up my cross isn’t my strong suit. But how cool is that – last year Cara had Luke 9:23 and this year Linda has it.

    Last year this time I was still struggling to get my March 1 verse so I went very, very easy…Matt 6:21 – Where your treasure is there your heart will be also. My favorite thing about this verse is I that I know someone named Treasure and she told me that she got her name because she was a ‘surprise’ baby arriving later in her Mom’s life and her mother used this verse as the motivation for her name. I LOVE THAT.

    I am wishing there was an easy week ahead with the Sermon on the Mount verses but it doesnt’ appear to be coming. I’m with Christy if I had not done this last year I would very reluctant to continue now that the going is getting tough. But then I remember I am relying on Christ to get me through the challenge this year.

  5. peggylangille says:

    oops I need comments 🙂

  6. Linda says:

    Thanks for your words of encouragement. Yes, it is a battle that I have to fight everyday. But, I thank God that everyday the enemy finds me “armed and dangerous”! (in the words of Joel Olstein) By the grace of God, I carry my cross, but I also carry with me the empty tomb. Hmm…….I kind of like that picture: the empty cross on one shoulder and the empty tomb on the other……..Yah…….armed and dangerous indeed!
    Linda

  7. Hello ladies,
    It seems that no matter my good intentions, i find myself posting a few days late each time. Trying to juggle homeschooling, chiropractic sessions, Awana, etc. Thanks Christy for posting your verses from last year. I went to an elder this morning to be anointed with oil and prayed over that i would not be gripped by the fear and worry that seem so prevalent in my life lately. That was a verse he mentioned in his prayer for me.

    Last year i was finishing up on Psalm 84:11-12: For the LORD God is s sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless. O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in You.

    Last year, i was able to tackle 2 verses at a time but i’m a little stretched and so i’m slowing down a bit, at least while school is in session. For this go round, i’m on verse 6 in Psalm 91: nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness, nor the plague that destroys at midday. It’s a continuation of the things we are protected from as we rest under His wings.

    Peace my dear sisters.
    love,
    Delores

Leave a Reply

