Verse 5

Hello dear ladies!

I’m a little late today, I usually try to post first thing in the morning. The short month caught up with me! So it’s time to post our 5th verses or passages for the year. Last year at this time my church had a missions conference and I attended a session called Living Missionally with Children. It was and is an issue close to my heart because it is very important to me that my children grow up not only with an appreciation of how blessed they are, but also with a desire to help those around them. The key verse for this session was

Deuteronomy 6:5-7 (NIV1984)

5 Love the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength. 6 These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. 7 Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

I loved the image of talking about these things with our children wherever we are, all the time. And oftentimes, wherever we are at this time of year is skiing. So I mentally added to this passage, “…when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up and when you are on the ski lift.” And as it turns out, time on the ski lift has been great for talking with my kids about things, including God and how we are supposed to love him and show that love to those around us.

Up to this point last year the memory work had been largely that, an exercise. This is where it began to get really personal for me, and where the Word in me began to take an effect that I could see and feel. Reciting my previous verses and working on my new verses each day was really instilling in me a deeper love for and understanding of God’s holy word. This is where I started to feel it really take root.

And practically speaking, this is when I realized I needed a mnemonic to help in my memorizing efforts. Each day I would try to recite all my verses to myself, but I was having trouble getting started. I tried numbering them, but that didn’t really have any meaning and didn’t stick. So I came up with this: E 1C 1T J D. Anyone want to guess what that means? Yes, it’s the first letters of each reference. Up to this point my verses had come from Ephesians, 1 Corinthians, 1 Thessalonians, John and Deuteronomy. I could count these 5 off on my fingers with my mnemonic and recite them from memory, using either my spiral or the app in my phone to check myself if I had trouble. And at this time it was only taking me about 2 minutes to run through all my verses. I know because I timed myself. I don’t know why I tend to focus on the numbers at times, but I do, and in this case it helped me to think, “This isn’t hard! It’s only 2 minutes out of my day!” It was encouraging to me to realize that. And then I started saying them to myself more often since it was such a tiny chunk of time. I found all this encouraging. I hope some of it is of use to anyone who might be struggling at this point!

Now for the new! SOTM Siestas, you may wish to disregard this part, lest you become confused. Continuing with Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount, which has been just amazing, we have finished with the beatitudes and are in the passage with the twin metaphors of salt and light:

Matthew 5:13-16

13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men.

14 “You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. 16 In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

I could go on and on about what I’m learning from these verses, but I won’t, since I’m doing that already here. Please feel free to visit and join in on the conversation! It has been so very illuminating. Ha ha.

Also, if you are interested in chiming in on our Made to Crave conversations, please click here. This book is opening my eyes in many ways as well! It’s not too late to join in! Thank you Lord for Siestas who are reading and learning from it with me!

Your turn! Please comment below with your verses, and continue to encourage and lift up one another. If you would like to be notified automatically of any additional comments or responses after you post, you can click “Notify me of follow-up comments via email.” Then you don’t have to keep checking back to see who else has commented. Or you don’t have to feel bad if you neglect or forget (but please don’t feel obligated!). In the same vein, if you would like to be automatically notified when I post, so that you don’t have to keep checking back (for example on days when I am late), click “Follow” at the top of your screen. Now to be honest, I don’t like that it says Follow. I wish it said, “Join this community.” But it doesn’t, and there’s nothing I can do about it, except ask you to ignore that.

I love love love you ladies! Here’s a sneak peak of another of last year’s verses, it’s been on my mind since we started studying salt and light. I give it to you now as a blessing:

Romans 12:10-12

10 Be devoted to one another in sisterly love. Honor one another above yourselves. 11 Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. 12 Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

19 thoughts on “Verse 5

  1. Peggy says:

    I have been wondering where the heck I found this scripture and decided to use it…then this morning there it was in Jesus Calling! So I guess it isn’t a coincidence that my March 1 verse is the same verse as one of the ones JC used for March 1. I must have read last year and decided I liked it.

    Is 26:3 You will keep in perfect peace (s)he whose mind is steadfast because (s)he trusts in you. The (s) is how I memorized it 🙂

    This verse has really helped me keep things in perspective. With everything that came up last year I can’t tell you how many times this verse spoke to me. In particular I had an issue with my nephew who is like my own son and every time I would start to worry about him I would think about this verse. Even though my nephew isn’t walking with the Lord today, God gave me a promise about 10 years ago that I would see Eric worshiping Him one day. I know this as surely as I know anything. I would think about this verse and then remember that one day everything will be fine! But if I took my focus off of God and looked at the circumstances — it looked bleak.

    Ironically of all my verses last year this is the one I had the most trouble memorizing. I had to change versions and I still didn’t really have it until near the end of March (so you will see in 2 weeks I had a very easy verse.)

    SOTM for this year

  2. Lynette says:

    HI Ladies,

    I am just starting today. If you know me you know that I am always a little behind in starting something until I am comfortable or at least think I might succeed. I am starting out easy with a short verse, it is one that I hope will help me keep on the path of memorizing bible verses. Here we go… Matthew 4:4 Jesus answered, “It is written: ‘man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'”

    • christypond says:

      Lynette, I’m so glad to see you here! Better late than never! Thank you for sharing!

    • Peggy Langille says:

      Lynette, last year was the first time I did this. When I got to this, the 5th verse, I was ready to quit. I was having such a hard time memorizing this verse, I thought there was no way I would ever get to 24, but uncharacteristically I pressed on. I’m so thankful that I did – I’ve changed from having God’s word inside me, I can’t even explain it. So this is just to say, if it gets hard – keep doing it, you will be blessed beyond what you can imagine.

  3. caragab says:

    my verse last year was luke 9:23 – Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself, take up his cross DAILY and follow me.” (emphasis mine) (because i need that emphasis on the DAILY part) (because following after Jesus takes a constant, DAILY, submission to his will)

    following Jesus is simple, but difficult.

    thanks for starting this conversation christy – i love the glimpse of the gospel i get every time i enter here…

    • christypond says:

      Too true, Cara, following Jesus is simple, but difficult. And thank YOU. This community wouldn’t exist if you hadn’t invited me on the scripture memory adventure last year!!!

  4. Good morning ladies!

    Last year i was working on verses 11-12 (the last 2 verses in Psalm 84). “For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor; no good thing does He withhold from those whose walk is blameless. O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.” I often pray for favor and honor from the LORD for my husband at work and i definitely could use more sun out here in Washington! 😉

    I’ll be working on Psalm 91:5 for these 2 weeks:
    You will not fear the terror of night, nor the arrow that flies by day,

    I tend to be a Piglet in terms of spiritual things: a very small person with very big fears. Several years ago, our interim preacher challenged us to choose a command of Jesus that we particularly struggled with and strive to work on obeying that one more (of course that didn’t mean to ignore all the others). I chose “Do not fear”. I can’t say that i obeyed it perfectly but that year showed me how often my default response to various circumstances coming up is fear. I have since heard that that command appears 365 times in the Bible. One command per day! Guess He knew that would be hard for us to do.

    Hope all of you are well and persevering with your Lenten sacrifices!

    love,
    Delores

    • christypond says:

      Delores, thank you so much for sharing about your fears! Our pastor preached a sermon a couple of years ago about giving our fears to God and it impacted me deeply. I wouldn’t say that I’m generally fearful, but I was desperately afraid of losing my parents. Neither was in great health and I just was getting bogged down in fear of their passing. The pastor used the passage about Hezekiah facing Assyrian invasion and placing his faith in God’s protection against the much mightier power, and he had us write our greatest fear or burden (our Assyria) on a piece of paper and place it on the altar, physically, in the front of the church, and to give it to the Lord in prayer. My Dad did pass away from lung cancer last November and that sermon, plus the year of memorizing scripture, made all the difference in my handling of it. Thank you so much for sharing that!

      The Lord make his face shine upon you and give you peace, dear one!

    • christypond says:

      Another thing about fear, Delores. During my Dad’s final months and my personal struggle with knowing I would be losing him, I came upon this truth which helped me a great deal with my fear.

      What is the worst thing that can happen? Most people, including me at the time, would answer, “Death.” But it hit me, through my memory verses and prayer times, that the worst thing that can happen to us is NOT death. It is separation from God, whether in life or in death! And I knew my dad to be a believer and took and still do take comfort in knowing that he is with Jesus and that I will see him again, as a brother in Christ, and we will worship together for all eternity at God’s throne.

      Wow, what do I have to fear if I really believe that? So what’s the worst thing that can happen? My husband losing his job? No money? Nope, separation from God. I could provide a long list here, but you do it yourself. Even torture. That would be insanely bad. But is it the worst thing that could happen? Nope. Separation from God. So as long as I have God and I’m really, truly relying on Jesus for everything, trusting in Him completely and utterly, how can anything in the world scare me? It can’t. Because at the end of it all, I have Jesus. And God has me, completely.

      • Tammy Bellinger says:

        Christy, I don’t know how I missed this post, but I did! Your thoughts on fear are so right on. As long as we are at peace with God, what is left to fear? He has overcome death for us. Some of the things you mentioned are very fearful to me, job loss, disasters, torture (how would I ever hold up to that?), but God knows and all lies in His hands. Our class at church has been through several Old Testament books in the last year or so, and over and over, God shows that He is in control. He works all things out according to His plans. Love what you said. Thanks for sharing!

        Because at the end of it all, I have Jesus. And God has me, completely.

  5. Tammy Bellinger says:

    I have not forgotten or given up on this! However, I have been at our Ladies Retreat that we have been planning for six months or so now. It was awesome! It is so exciting to see our Lord at work among our church ladies. We used Beth’s study on Daniel, sessions 1, 3, and 6. We will be doing the whole study starting after spring break. At the moment, I am exhausted due to not much sleep this weekend, but a whole lot of good times with the Lord and my Christian sisters! I think this is going to be a review week for me, and I will start a new verse on the 15th. Ya’ll have some great verses picked out! Once I sleep a bit, I may chime back in with a new one.

    • christypond says:

      Tammy!!! So glad to hear from you, and also I’m glad that people are spacing out a little. It’s much more fun than just a deluge on one day and then nothing for 2 weeks! I meant to comment a while back about your church’s 30 hour famine! I’ve thought about doing that with my daughter’s youth group as well, sounds so exciting! And your Daniel study, I’m envious! So glad to hear from you, and I look forward to hearing your verse once you’ve had a chance to rest and be refreshed!

      Love you! Christy

  6. Linda says:

    I chose a short one this time:
    “You have circled this mountain long enough. Now turn north.” Deut. 2:3
    This is one of the verses in the back of M2C and it is so true for me as far as the diet yo-yo goes. I have been circling the Mountain of the Great Diet for many years and now I am done circling and I am relying on my Father for strength and perseverance. I am taking the promised land!!!! It looks like about 140 pounds! 🙂 And flowing with non-fat milk and honey and maybe some raw veggies and Fiber One 90 Calorie Chocolate Fudge Brownie bars. God is just so good!!
    Love ya,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Linda, this will so totally be one of my verses when I am back to choosing my own!!! I love it!!! And I love how it ties in with M2C too! You are so right, God is just SOOOO good!!!

      Love you sister! Christy

    • Peggy Langille says:

      I loved this verse when I read it in M2C. It is so true of us in many areas — it is like God saying “what are you doing, you have circled this (diet, drink, unforgiveness, pride, etc) long enough — NOW turn to me. I think in one of Lysa’s webcasts she actually used this verse, either that or I heard someone else use it.

      Honestly, I can’t believe how much I love finding these little gems in God’s word and how silly I am for being surprised at how well they fit our world today.

  7. Linda says:

    Yes, Peggy I love finding those gems too. It’s kind of like God saying: “Here, you need to hear from Me!”, and then a verse jumps out at you – evens ones you have heard many times before.
    And Christy – I wanted to comment on your posting about fear from 3/5. Those thoughts – almost exactly – had been on my mind a few weeks ago. God is such a sweet, good and loving God and He has such sweet, good and loving plans for us. Who are we to judge what He has planned for us? Especially if His plans for us include being made into the image of His Son and our ultimate goal is eternity in heaven with Him. So glad you are running this blog.
    Love,
    Linda

  8. Tammy Bellinger says:

    A bit late, but here is my verse for this time. Isaiah 54:5 – For your maker is your husband, the Lord Almighty is His name – the Holy One of Israel is your redeemer, He is called the God of all the earth.

    My testimony at retreat was about how God provides. He is father to the fatherless, and husband to the husbandless. He is my redeemer! Retreat was so awesome this year. Many gave testimony to the work He has done in their lives. Sharing where we are in our walk encourages me in my walk. Our Sunday School lesson tomorrow is from Luke 1 and 2. Elizabeth and Mary have just received the life changing news that they are each about to have a baby! One woman is older and beyond the years of child birth, the other is a virgin, not even married yet. They both accept God’s hand in their lives, and He allows them the time together to encourage one another. I love that they got to be together for almost three months, through the end of Elizabeth’s pregnancy and the beginning of Mary’s. What an encouragement they must have been to one another!

    Last year’s verse for March 1st was Romans 5:1 and 2A – Therefore since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand.

    I did a long study on Romans last year, and many of my verses came from there as God showed me one truth after another about Himself. I later connected this one with chapter 4:23 – 25 which ends with He was delivered over to death for our sins, and raised to life for our justification. Jesus did it all to bring us into the presence of God, His Father. We owe Jesus our all.

    • christypond says:

      Hello Tammy!

      I’m glad you still posted, I love that verse! And thank you so much for your comment above, that really touched me. I feel so blessed to have you as part of this community! I look forward to all of us growing in this together!

      Love, Christy

Leave a Reply

