Verse 4

Time to share our 4th verses! Thank you so much for stopping by! If you are new to scripture memory, Welcome!!! It’s never too late to start! If you have been here before, you know the drill… please share the verse or verses you are working on for this time period, whatever you like about how those verses came to you, feel free to share anything that is going on in your life, ask for prayers, comment on other peoples’ comments, and if you memorized scripture last year, please share your verses for last year! Thanks so much!

On February 15 of last year, I was still reading Francis Chan’s “Forgotten God,” about the Holy Spirit. I was struck by these words, spoken by Jesus:

John 14:15-17

New International Version (NIV)

Jesus Promises the Holy Spirit

15 “If you love me, keep my commands. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another advocate to help you and be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.

What a promise! The Spirit of truth, with us and in us! How exciting! This was a more difficult passage for me to memorize (and a somewhat challenging book to read), but I found that because I really had to work at it to get in engrained in my brain, it has stuck with me and returns to me often. Some verses and passages I worked on last year came easily to me, and others were a bit more work. When I am struggling, it can help me to look for patterns or symmetry in the verse. For example, at the beginning of this passage, it is Jesus speaking of first himself, then the Father, then the Spirit of truth, the Trinity. In the next sentence, the word “him” is used 3 times in referring to the Spirit. This symmetry not only helps me commit the verses to memory, but helps me appreciate the beautiful literary quality of so many of the passages.

It was also at this time that I discovered that there is more than one NIV (you probably already knew that). I had been working from a couple of different Bibles, and since I was having trouble memorizing these verses, kept referring to my Bibles to refresh my memory. At some point I realized that the translations I was using, while both NIV, were worded very differently. And I found that, as a general rule, I prefer the NIV 1984. These verses, however, are from the NIV. This confusion could be part of the reason why I had so much trouble getting them to stick… What about you? Do you have a favorite version for memory work? For study?

Also, as a general note on scripture memorization, a very sweet Siesta in Houston gave my friend Cara an invaluable tip. She had done the memory challenge before, and said that she works on her new verses during the week, then on Sunday she reviews her older verses so as not to forget them completely. I have found this to be a great way to keep the old verses fresh!

And now for the new! If you’ve been here before, you know that this year I am working on the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5 – 7, with a group of ladies. I seem to be confusing some people by guessing ahead which verses we will be covering (Cara is posting weekly while I am sticking with the 1st and 15th of each month), so this time I will simply say that we are currently up to Matthew 5:12.  Our most recent verses have dealt with persecution, and if you are interested in joining in the conversation (which has been fascinating) you would be most welcome to join us by clicking here.

Matthew 5:9-12

New International Version 1984 (NIV1984)

10 Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.   11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. 12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Your turn! I look forward to hearing from you, and I absolutely LOVE that so many of you are commenting on each other’s comments. I was really hoping for a community here, not a following. Thank you for blessing me as you allow the Lord to use you in blessing each other!!!

One last note: We have been talking about a book, “Made to Crave” by Lysa TerKeurst. Some of the ladies here have read it and many of us would like to, so some of us are going to read it together starting on February 22, the first day of Lent. I will put up a short post that day where everyone can chime in with their comments about the book. We’d love to have more company, please feel free to join in! You have a week to get your copy if you don’t already have one!

The Lord bless and keep each and every one of you!

Christy

24 thoughts on “Verse 4

  1. caragab says:

    1) i love made to crave! such an awesome book!
    2) i love how you find patterns in things. that is not something that jumps out at me. you have a clever mind. 🙂
    3)i have been working on matthew 5:12 this week. i find myself saying “rejoice and be glad” a lot. i mean A. LOT. siesta peggy made a comment that persecutions can come from Christians. i have found that to be true this week. rejoice and be glad!
    4) my verse last year was luke 6:27-31 and i memorized it from the message and it was difficult. the contemporary language tripped me up! but now it is ingrained in me. and i love it. well not really. i hate that verse. who wants to stand there while someone is slapping you? i just want to slap back! or at the very least defend myself. but in every version the verse is the same. DO NOT DEFEND. DO NOT RETALIATE. rejoice and be glad!

    • christypond says:

      1) I love your lists!!!
      2) Thank you so much for saying that. I was just feeling that the whole blog entry was very dry and mechanical. But truth be told, at this point last year, memorizing scripture was still a mechanical challenge. I was excited about it, but it was a physical thing. It didn’t become a really deep life-changing spiritual thing til a little later…
      3) you crack me up. someone needs to start a blog called Rejoice and be glad! Peggy?
      4) Girl I needed reminding of this passage today. You know I did.

      The Lord bless you and keep you, dear inspiring friend!!!

      • Cris says:

        How come I can’t answer your welcome? I have joined like 8 times. I have my own blog now calles “it’s always a story” because I thought I wouldn’t have to sign up. But we just can’t reply to the welcome but that’s okay because I have something to say to you and Cara. Learning my verse (see below) and the first thing I read is in Christy’s welcome John “Obey God…HE will bring you an ADVOCATE…
        And then CAra says DO NOT RETALIATE! DO NOT DEFEND!…(CGab I’m joining your journey soon too, but as I am a rookie and I got these circumstances, and I hope to be there by early spring.)
        But the first 2 things I read after repeating all day “Do not Harden your hearts,as they did in the rebellion during the time of testing in the desert,
        9) Where your fathers tested and tried me and forty years saw what I did.

        AND THE FIRST scripture I read is CP’s John 14:15-17″If you LOVE ME” and then CGAB eloquently said “Just MOVE FORWARD”…Don’t DEFEND – DONT RETALIATE…for cryin out loud don’t make it worse. Ahh refreshment at 10pm Friday night
        You guys are Holy Spirit HOT!
        He is faithfull…..mmmmmm
        Cris

  2. Matilda Lucas says:

    Peace of the Lord be with you all.

    Christy thank you for the reminder – I need to buy the book Made to Crave before the 22nd. Thank you again for the lovely song, It ministered to me. I appreciate all the love you and other sisters have poured on me.

    My memory verse will be the same this month. As I memorized it, I realized it was not just a matter of memory, but I need to walk the walk too. I reflect and realize that i allowed little sin in….but wait a minute! Sin is sin right? big or small. So will intentionally walk my memory verse again. My spirit used to be so sensitive to the Holy Spirit. I had stopped sharpening my iron with iron. In this group, my iron has been scrapped by other people’s iron (memory verses) – Like ouch! yeah I needed that, Ouch! I forgot about that, i need it to help me grow closer to God. So ladies keep sharpening that iron against mine. 🙂
    Psalms 119:9-12

    9)How can a young man keep his way pure? By living according to your word
    10)I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands
    11) I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you
    12) Praise be to you, O Lord; teach me your decree

    • christypond says:

      Oh Matilda! I am so glad you are finding this community to be helpful, encouraging and supportive! Don’t we all need that iron sharpening iron??? You are the second person in as many days to mention that verse to me, so I’m putting it here now for anyone else who would like to explore it —

      Proverbs 27:17
      New International Version (NIV)
      17 As iron sharpens iron,
      so one person sharpens another.

      Thanks to all you beautiful ladies for being iron to one another!

    • Cris says:

      Oh Sweet Miss Matilda ~
      i AM SO BLESSED BECAUSE WHAT YOUR VERSE REMINDS ME

      it is a choice. to be intimate with our creator and also somehow our Groom….

      but it’s a choice to live b His word.

  3. Peggy Langille says:

    Howdy,

    Thanks for telling me where the iron sharpens iron verse was, I was thinking about it on the plane and thinking that I needed to look it up when I got home and now I don’t have to!

    I’m with you on the SOTM. LOVE, love, love the SOTM book by Kendall. It has been really opening my eyes to the verses and I’m only on the meek (in the book). Trying to get caught up to where we are by next week.

    Last year I did 1Thes 5:16-18 Rejoice always, pray without ceasing and in ALL circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. I memorized that verse because I went to a conference in early Feb 2011 where Lysa Terkurst spoke and that was what she taught on. Many struggles for me with living those verses — I can speak them all day long but living them is not so easy.

    Lysa is having a M2C webcast on Monday 20th at 8pm if anyone is interested. I loved the ones that I’ve attended before. I can’t wait to read it again with you, I was going to start in January before you talked about it but now I’m waiting for you.

    Have I mentioned that I’m planning to see my bff Ann Voskamp this weekend? 🙂

    Seriously though, I get so excited when it is 1 or the 15th because I we are doing this. I get excited when I see Cara has posted our SOTM verses Saturday morning. You guys are iron and you are sharpening me in so many ways.

    Love you.

  4. christypond says:

    Sweet Peggy! I know exactly what you mean!!! I get so excited on Friday night and Saturday morning, looking forward to the SOTM posts!!! And really enjoying my book by Stott, sounds like we started our studies at about the same time, and I’m just a little behind too. Should catch up this next week!

    And 1 Thess 5:16-18, isn’t that the truth??? It’s all a lot easier to memorize than it is to do, isn’t it? Don’t know if you saw it above, but I suggested that perhaps a Siesta might need to start a blog called Rejoice and be glad! Or perhaps Rejoice always? Hmmmm???

    I would be very upset with you about rubbing in the weekend with Ann but you redeemed yourself by telling us about the webcast with Lysa. I will be on it if I possibly can!!!

    Love you so much, dear Siesta, and your iron is sharpening my iron too!!!

  5. Linda says:

    Hello Sisters! My verse for these next two weeks is:

    For God did not give us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self-discipline.
    2 Tim. 1:7
    Yes, a short one for a change. I picked this verse because of my need for more self-discipline and since I will be jumping into Lent next week with the plan of self sacrifice and self-discipline, i better load up on some amo to use against the enemy. I also like this verse because my word for the year is, “BOLDNESS”, I wanted a verse to remind me that I DO NOT have a spirit of timidity, but one of POWER, love and self-discipline!!! (maybe a little too much coffee this morning!) So, yest count me in on the “Made to Crave” adventure. I am spiritually preparing!

    My verse last year at this time was:

    The Lord really isn’t being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent. 2 Peter 3:9

    Last year at this time I was frustrated with the Lord because He was being – well……..too slow! We were struggling with finding treatment for our son and everywhere doors were closing. We did finally find a place for him and he was admitted in August. Now we are preparing for him to come home. Tomorrow we pick him up. Is he ready? Has he changed? We aren’t sure and only time will tell. I want my son fixed and I want him fixed now. I don’t want to watch him suffer, tormented by mental illness. This can’t be the Lord’s good and perfect plan for him. (breathe deep) It is so hard to keep the focus on the Lord’s plans instead of mine. How do I know what the future holds? How do I know what plans the Lord has for my son. They could be absolutely fabulous beyond my wildest expectations and here I sit fearful and timid of today reminding God how slow he is about His promise. Why does He love me!? I don’t know! But He does love me and He loves my son. So I will be reminding myself today: “God did not give me a spirit of fear and timidity. He gave me a spirit of power, love and self-discipline.” And, “God is not being slow about his promise – as you think, Linda. He has a bigger, better plan and he wants everyone to be saved.” (breathe deep) A bigger, better plan and He wants everyone to be saved. A bigger, better plan and He wants everyone to be saved. A bigger, better plan and He wants everyone to be saved. (breathe deep)
    Love you guys,
    Linda

    • christypond says:

      Dear Linda, you have got my blood pumping this morning! And my lungs breathing deep!!! Thank you so much for sharing both this year’s and last year’s verses, and your current concerns. I’ll be praying for you guys as you prepare to pick him up. Please keep me posted! Your 2 Timothy verses are going at the top of my list for next year!!! Love you so much, Siesta!

    • Cris says:

      Ok I am totally lost in the Made to Crave, Peggy – can you fill a siesta is?
      Cris

      • Christy says:

        Hey Cris! I was trying to reply to your post above (after Cara’s) but can’t — just know I’m hearing you and praying for you! And Made to Crave — it’s a book by Lysa TerKeurst, president of Proverbs 32 Ministries. The subtitle is Satisfying your deepest desire with God, not food. Not sure this is your area of need. 🙂

  6. Peggy says:

    Taking a list lesson from Cara even though my bullet points are more verbose.

    1) A Siesta would need to have something profound to say about Rejoice and be Glad in order to start a blog with that title.
    2) Said siesta would also need to be someone who lives in the world of rejoicing and being glad.
    3)The siesta would also need to be someone who can write spontaneously without having to key off a question.
    4) Maybe you can create another blog for the M2C post and call it Rejoice and be Glad.
    5) This siesta may have mentioned once or 95 times that she would be spending the weekend with Ann Voskamp (I wanted to mention again in the event you forgot.)
    6) If a siesta can’t write a blog about rejoicing and being glad after a weekend with Ann Voskamp, there would be no hope for said siesta.
    7) Pray for good weather and travel mercies pls 🙂

    • christypond says:

      1) You have lots of profound things to say girl, don’t sell yourself short!
      2) Yeah. ‘Cause I’m sure Cara would say that she lives Salt and Grace for every second of her day.
      3) Nuh-uh.
      4) Nuh-uh.
      5) Ann Voskamp who?
      6) Can’t wait to hear it!!!
      7) I will!!!

      Love you love you love you!!!

    • Peggy says:

      2) Don’t tell Cara cause we don’t want her getting a big head, but as I was reading what Kendall had to say about the meek, I thought it fit her. (But then if she thought that she would no longer be meek.) Her blog could be called salt, grace and meek. Which I think she does live at least 23.50 hours out of the day, which would be about 23.25 hours longer than I live in the land of Rejoice and be glad in the average day.

  7. Delores says:

    Hello lovely siestas! Sorry I didn’t post yesterday but I had a busy homeschooling day and in the evening my oldest had his second of two concerts this week.

    Last year, I was still working through Psalm 84, verses 7-8. I’ll be doing Psalm 91:4 these next 2 weeks. Wish I could work on longer portions but I know my limitations at this time. I feel like I’ve been battling the evil one or at least felt beat up on by him. Thankfully I felt some encouragement from the Lord the other day and am trying to rest in His strength in the midst of my utter weakness.

    I appreciate this community of siestas.

    He will cover you with His feathers, and under His wings you will find refuge; His faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.
    Psalm 91:4 NIV 1984 (my preferred translation)

  8. Cris says:

    SOOOO, is 2 days still fashionably late?
    Can I get points for starting and losing the first one (which was brillinat, but no promises on this one. Started at 5am?) ok, ok I’m just late.
    Probably because I have not opened my Bile in a week from today.
    No Excuses, just poor time managment and other things more important then staring at this huge moutain I am at the base of. I will, obviously, be keeping my Hebrew vs.
    I pray I am not discouraging or morbid with repeat verses about rotting corpses in the desert. Every verse, every story, every parable, and every word that whispers to my heart from the Word, I see in my mind as a theatre production. Maybe it’s because I know allot of the characters and endings so well the….yet, so baffeled in my story(mystery play). Simply said, this verse reminds me that after Gods people were Miraculously saved with amazing miracles; they complained about going back as they sat and remembered the good ol’ days in slavery. I did that this week. In writing. TO my Parents(and you think God has a woodshed, you should see my Elderly Minister Fathers…) No, I mean I really and truly wrote them an email stating I was a better person, MORE LIKED, more stable, MORE CONFIDENT, COULD SUPPORT A SICK SON, just overall I was a more ENJOYABLE and better OFF person off before I BELIEVED GOD, and died to myself and took up His Cross. Before I made the mistake, of coming when he called, walked away from it all, jumped off the cliff. WHOA! Rude! Now I want to go back in time and make different decisions. I was a lukewarm Christian who’s high power corporate job came before my family (I was the breadwinner after all), but more importantly, my job came before Christ. And NOW I write to my parents,( who have needed countless hours of therapy raising me), that I was better off back in the chains of money, selfishness, no true trust in God, when I was IN CHARGE of the situation, because I had money and security and was well liked. Right in front of my ABBA, SAVIOUR, & HOLY SPIRIT( who I know, was just shaking His head the whole time I was writing. Head buried in his hands, like “how do you expect me to take that before Him?”)
    So same verse. Satan was really offended that’s what I wanted to memorize this verse went for the Achilles, limping but not down, still golding my Sword and working on picking up my Sheild of Faith, I see my Siesta’s in the horizon….. (I did not steal any of that from the movie “Troy”—-ok, so the last scene a little)

    HEBREWS 3:7-15
    7)So,as the Holy Spirit says:
    “TODAY IF YOU HEAR HIS VOICE,
    8)DO NOT HARDENYOUR HEARTS, as you did in the rebellion, during the time of testing in the desert,
    9)where your fathers tested and tried me and forty years(I’m 1 yr away from 40) saw what I did.
    10)That is why I was angry with that generation, and I said, ‘Their hearts are always going astray, and they have not known my ways.’
    11)so I declared on oath, in my anger ‘They shall never enter my rest’.
    12) See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful unbelieving heart that TURNS AWAY FROM the LIVING GOD.
    13) But encourage one another daily (this is where you all enter from stage left and right in the play in my head) AS LONG AS IT IS CALLED TODAY, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s decietfulness.
    14) WE have come to SHARE IN CHRIST if we HOLD FIRMLY TILL THE END OF CONFIDENCE WE HAD AT FIRST.
    15) As it had been said today
    “Today, if you hear his voice
    do not harden your hearts
    as you did in the rebellion”
    Ok – Done. It will probably take a month but these next 2 weeks I would like to do 7-11
    Now my favorite part – reading your scriptures.

    I will let you know how the play ends, afterall – you are all in it…. ; )

    Prayfully and in need of humbling,
    Cris

    ps Why cant we get spell and grammer check on this thing? – and don’t you bring up any dictionary talk to me Christy Pond! I was in Executive Management for 16 years – we had assistants and Blackberry’s!….lol

    • Christy says:

      Cris, better late than never for sure! And there’s no pressure to arrive promptly on the 1st or 15th, just come how and when and as you are! Thank you for opening your heart here. Praying for you.

      Love, Christy

  9. Tammy Bellinger says:

    Better late than never, right? It has been a crazy week at school, and meetings in the evenings. I looked back to what my verse was last year, and it is my favorite of the year, that I still cling to!
    Job 19:25 – 27 –
    I know that my redeemer lives,
    and that in the end he will stand on the earth.
    26 And after my skin has been destroyed,
    yet in my flesh I will see God;
    27 I myself will see him
    with my own eyes—I, and not another.
    How my heart yearns within me!

    This has just resonated with me. It sings in my mind. I do so yearn to see Jesus!

    Now, for this year, I thought about the Sermon on the Mount, but right now I am studying the Lord’s Supper, and for now I am working on that. So this week I will be working on 1 Corinthians 11: 23 – 26. for I received from the Lord, what I also passed on to you. The Lord Jesus, on the night He was betrayed took bread, and when He had given thanks, He broke it and said, This is my body which is for you, do this in remembrance of me. In the same way after supper, He took the cup saying, This is the new covenant in my blood, do this whenever you drink it, in remembrance of me. For, whenever you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until He comes.

    In remembrance of me – How do I remember Jesus? His death, His resurrection, all the times He has saved me and rescued me in this life, the difficult days that I only made it through by remembering Him, the beautiful sunrises that only He could have made, my babies first arrival, good days and bad days, Jesus saw me through.

    It seems like these verses go right along with my verses from last year from Job. I long to see Jesus, how my heart yearns within me!

    Thanks for all your encouragement!
    Tammy

    • Christy says:

      Absolutely better late than never, Tammy! So glad to hear from you, and to have another Siesta here who can speak from last year’s experience! Thank you so much for sharing both your verses from this year and last. What a beautiful way to dwell on the Lord’s Supper.

      Love and prayers to you, Siesta!

      Christy

  10. Cris says:

    As the rookie to the blog I am having a hard tiem and I need suggestions.

    1) I bought a journal and wirte it onece I ahve oicked.
    2) that’s it
    3) I am strugling any thoughts?
    lol…I carry the journal and try three verses a day but it’s not retaining….
    I repeat them over nad over while cooking dinner, laundry, homeschooling ( it gets a little boring…)
    Need Siesta’s in the Horizon!

    • Christy says:

      Okay, we gotcha covered!

      1) Good place to start!
      2) Not to worry!
      3) Yes — first, maybe you have bitten off too much to start? Perhaps start with one verse not three? Maybe just start with

      7)So,as the Holy Spirit says:
      “TODAY IF YOU HEAR HIS VOICE,

      Also, try writing them out, that’s something that Beth suggested. And I put my verse in a note on my phone so that every time I pull out my phone it is there. So before I check email or Facebook or whatever, I run through my verses. And first thing in the morning, especially if I can do it while it’s quiet, and even more ideally, while doing yoga, I go over the verses to start the day. Just start small! Don’t pressure yourself to take on a big chunk or you’ll get discouraged.

      And make sure that whether you are working on memorizing or not, you are opening that Bible every day girl. 🙂

      Love you, praying for you and your family now.

      Christy

  11. caragab says:

    this is for all of you: christy, matilda, linda, cris, peggy, tammy, delores – i just love you all so much. that is all.

Leave a Reply

